Lead, Kindly Light

the light

Lead kindly light amid th’ encircling gloom,  lead Thou me on!

The night is dark, and I am far from home; lead Thou me on!

Keep Thou my feet;  I do not ask to see the distant scene;

One step enough for me.//

I was not ever thus, nor prayed that Thou shouldst lead me on;

I loved to choose and see my path;  but now lead Thou me on!

I loved the garish day, in spite of fears,

Pride ruled my will. Remember not past years!//

So long Thy power hast blest me, sure it still will lead me on.

O’er moor and fen, o’er crag and torrent, till the night is gone,

 And with the morn those angel faces smile,

Which I have loved long since, and lost awhile!//

— John Henry Newman

This hymn is the cry of my heart for 2013. That the Kindly Light would lead me on. That He would illuminate my path one step at a time,  granting me the contentment to live and not have to see the whole picture at once- ‘the distant scene’. What are your prayers for 2013? Any thoughts? The  quote below has helped me immensely in this last week, as I ran amuck in my desire to see the path ahead, and the whole concept seemed so fitting for the new year:

God never gives guidance for two steps at a time. I must take one step, and then I get light for the next. This keeps the heart in abiding dependance upon God.- C.H. Mackintosh

HAPPY NEW YEAR!

3 thoughts on “Lead, Kindly Light

  1. Ahhh! I LOVE that hymn! Aled Jones does a killer version of it. I don’t know if it’s online or not, but he has a page on grooveshark where you can listen to a lot of his gorgeous songs:

    http://grooveshark.com/#!/aled_jones

    (I’d write more, but I have to go to bed). 😀 He’s my favorite classical singer! Oh my! His album “Higher”, which is at the link I gave, is phenomenal.

  2. Thank you for the sweet comment! I checked out Aled Jones, and I really like his style. I love music in the Celtic vein, and I am always excited to find new artists.
    I fell in love with the version of the song by The Lower Lights, sadly they don’t have the song on grooveshark, but the link below will give you a taste of their style. Most of the members of the group are Mormon, but all of the hymns are biblical/non-denominational.

    http://grooveshark.com/#!/album/A+Hymn+Revival/5013439

    By the way, which is your favorite Sons of the Pioneers song? At the moment, mine is The River of No Return. That being said, I haven’t listened to them in a coon’s age:), but they do have a special place in my heart.

    Thank you again for the comment, and recommendation!

    • Oh shaw, I never got a notification that you’d responded to my comment! :/

      We love Aled’s traditional music. He’s swell. We love Celtic, too! Do you like the Clancy Brothers and Tommy Makem? They are our favorites.

      The computer I’m on now doesn’t have sound, so I can’t listen to the album you linked to, but I shall have to listen to it tomorrow if I can remember. *laugh*

      Favorite Sons of the Pioneers song? Oh gus, I have no idea. 😀 I love so many of them. Right now my favorite is “When the Prairie Sun Says Good Morning.” Such a cheerful song! Unfortunately the Pioneer’s version isn’t online (I shall upload it sometime on my YouTube channel, I guess!), but Ken Curtis has a swell version: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3SubldHXvOQ

      He was one of the Pioneers for a number of years, and I love his voice. When you get me started talking about the Pioneers, I never stop! Say, how did you know that I listen to them? 😀

Leave a Reply

